Things a child needs to hear from you

I’ve worked with children for several years now–as a caregiver and a therapist. I’ve found that there are some simple words that every kid needs to hear, yet they so often don’t. If you know a child, don’t ever assume they’ve already heard these words, and even if they have it is always good to say them again…

Things a child needs to hear from you:

“You are a special person to me. I don’t know anyone else like you.”

“You can do it. I believe in you.”

“You are a good person and you have a good heart. No one can take that away from you.”

“I care about you. I care about what happens to you.”

“I am ready to listen to what you have to say. It is important.”

“You are good at many things, like…”

“This is what I did wrong….I am sorry.”

“I don’t know, what do you think?”

“You deserve the best.”

“I like you.”

And the most important thing a child needs to hear from YOU….

“You are the best thing that ever happened to this world. I love you.”

It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men.  ~Frederick Douglass

4 thoughts on “Things a child needs to hear from you

  1. I don’t remember hearing a lot of those while I was growing up. I think it was just assumed I knew. Fortunately there are people in my life now who do say those things to me and it’s refreshing to me and helps in my “repairs.”

    I tell Kristen and Caleb that I love them every day and that they can do anything they put their minds to. Thank you for giving me a few more things I can say to them. Hopefully out of my weakness they will grow strong.

    Bless you!

  2. This my dear is the greatest wisdom and knowledge I have ever read.

    So easy to do, yet so often neglected and what a tremendous difference it could make.

    Thanks Mary for being you ~ a gift desperately needed. Love you honey and so proud to call you daughter. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

