Celebrate Love!

Today is a special day for my husband and I. It is the 11th anniversary of our first date. I can hardly believe it has been 11 years since my mom dropped me off at the movie theater in Ankeny so I could meet Tim in the lobby. I say ‘The Perfect Storm’. Wow, time really flies.

I can’t believe what a wonder adventure our relationship has been. I am so grateful to have been blessed with him in my life, and for the life that we have been and continue to build together. I try not to take it for granted, and today of all days, I think it is important to celebrate this blessing of Love in my life.

Perhaps you can relate to some Love in your life. The feeling is the same no matter what you attach it to—a relationship, a place, an event or activity. Love comes in so many forms, and in so many unexpected places. If you keep on the look-out you will find Love trying its best to seep into the cracks of your life whenever it can. If you look really deeply, you will find Love itself trying to consume you in every moment, trying desperately to get you to recognize it. The question is

                                                Will you allow Love into your life?

I want to share a poem I wrote for Tim a few years ago to express to him how I feel about him. It is about me too because it expresses how I try to let Love into my life through him…

 

A True Friend in You

I saw a true friend in you

The moment I laid my eyes on your smiling face

I recognized a thing about you

That I didn’t know what to make

I knew you and I loved you

And that is all that I understood

That is all that I understand still

I found a friend in you that I always knew

Was true and strong and real

You have been to me all that I could have dreamed

You have been my love, my partner, my friend

You have been part of everything

You have loved me when I was angry

And held me when I was sad

You laughed at me when I was silly

And you always accept who I am

I can be myself around you

What every that means each day

I can love you just like I want to

And you never tire at the things I say

The most important quality

I love about our special love

Is the way I learn about myself

By swimming in the flood

Of warmth and comfort

And basking in your ever shining sun

I know we will always be together

Because I think we both realize

That we reflect the best of each other

And we don’t even have to try

We work just by being

And we love by only a tie

Between what is and could be

And we don’t often question why

We love and we give of ourselves

Exactly what we would want

If we were the one standing

In the other person’s spot

I love you and I know you

I always have and I always will

I love you for being you

And there is nothing more to feel

This is my message

If it wasn’t already clear-

I love you and I love you and I love you

More than you can hear

3 thoughts on “Celebrate Love!

  1. What a lovely tribute to the blessings of Love you have experienced in your life. And to be truly aware of this great gift that keeps giving and giving, and totally appreciative is a gift itself.

    And to be able to express all this great Love in such a touching, tender and sweet fashion is heartwarming to read.

  2. Congratulations my dear to you and Timmy on your anniversary! I was thinking it was the 18th of June, but see I was incorrect.

    happy anniversay love birds

Leave a Reply

