Ban cruelty, not evidence of it…

If you know me, you probably know that I have taken to eating vegetarian these past few years. I began doing this because I was becoming increasingly aware of the horrendous conditions that animals endured just so I could have a hamburger at the weekend BBQ. The cruelty, violence, exploitation, and suffering that my pig, cow, chicken, turkey, and fish friends are enduring is simply not worth a momentary mouth water for me. So, I gave it up. It wasn’t hard when I was brave enough to actually face the reality of the food industry in this country–when I became willing to stop living in fantasy land and actually look at what was going on. I simply lost my appetite.

Right now in Iowa (the state I am usually proud to be from), the legislature is trying to make it illegal to take picture of animals being raised for consumption in inhumane conditions. This boggles my mind. But I can see why they wouldn’t want this–they don’t want know-it-alls like me actually finding out what it is they are doing! It seems to me that this would not even be an issue if animals where being cared for in the way that they should be. Unfortunately, this is far from the truth. 99% of the flesh consumed in this country comes from factory farms where many animals literally wallow in their own feces, cannot move (or sometimes stand up), get dangerous diseases and infections, and die. Some little chickens even get their beaks chopped off so they wont euthanize each other. Then they are savagely ripped apart, packaged, and after rotting for several days, end up at the local Wal-Mart.

Gross. Me. Out.

People tend to get very up in arms about my decision not to eat meat. I am always a bit confused. How have I offended thee? What I have just described does not worry you, but my eating habits do? I don’t think so. People just don’t have to whole picture yet. Lets hope that laws like the one in Iowa are not allowed to exist, so that we can continue to educate ourselves about what we are putting into our bodies and how we are treating the world around us.

I have much more to say about this topic, so I have decided to dedicate the rest of the month on my blog to these issues. I am also going vegan for the month, and don’t worry, I’ll tell you why next time.

For now, if you are so moved, please support efforts to block the proposed law in Iowa banning the documentation of animal cruelty on factory farms:

http://org2.democracyinaction.org/o/5986/p/dia/action/public/?action_KEY=6675

 

4 thoughts on “Ban cruelty, not evidence of it…

  1. I support you 100% Mary Blueberry – and to show my support I will from this day forward promise to give up all pork, beef, and other animal meats, but honey I can’t promise on the chicken. I do plan, as I have been doing now for about 6 months, to really cut back on purchasing and eating it.

    I admire you for caring enough to try to make a difference (BIG TIME), and I believe your efforts are rewarded in many more ways than you will be aware of even.

    Thanks Mary for trying to educate an ignorant society.

    YOU GO GIRLIE!

  2. Wow! I had no idea. Not sure that I will be able to give up any meat anytime soon (please don’t hate me) but I admire that you have. Perhaps one day I will be able to too 😉

Leave a Reply

